Cima Universidad de Navarra

FIMA Board of Trustees

The Fundación para la Investigación Médica Aplicada (FIMA) is the titular entity of the Cima Universidad de Navarra. It was established in 1998 and, after five decades of experience in biomedical research, FIMA created the Cima in 2004. The foundation consists of a president and five trustees:

President: Mr. Enrique de Sendagorta.

Honorary members:

  • Mr. Antonio Catalán
  • Mr. Antonio Trueba
  • Mr. Javier Olave

Members of the Board of Trustees:

  • Mr. Jorge Lucaya (vice-chairman)
  • Mr. Igor Errasti (secretary)
  • Ms. Paloma Grau (member)
  • Mr. Miguel Sanz (member)
  • Ms. Isabel Estapé (member)

The Board of Trustees is responsible for appointing the Cima Steering Committee, proposed by the Universidad de Navarra.

Governing Bodies

The Cima of the Universidad de Navarra is a University Research Institute that depends organically on the Rectorate of the Universidad de Navarra.

Management Committee

The Cima Steering Committee is proposed by the Universidad de Navarra and its appointment corresponds to FIMA. Together with the Rectorate, it is responsible for balancing the budget.

José Andrés
Gómez Cantero

General director
Icono correo electrónico

Antonio Pineda Lucena
Scientific Director
Icono correo electrónico 

Rubén Pío Osés
Deputy Scientific Director
Icono correo electrónico

Lucía Vanrell Majo
Translation and Innovation Director

Icono correo electrónico

María Mora Catalá
Icono correo electrónico

The Scientific Advisory Board is made up of researchers who are program directors in different scientific areas of the Cima and other prestigious researchers.

Dr. Rubén Pío, scientific director and director of the Cancer Division.

Dr. Bruno Paiva, co-director of the Hemato-Oncology program.

Dr. Felipe Prósper, co-director of the Hemato-Oncology program.

Dr. Marta Alonso, co-director of the Solid Tumors program.

Dr. Matías Ávila, co-director of the Solid Tumors program.

Dr. Juan José Lasarte, co-director of the Immunology and Immunotherapy program.

Dr. Ignacio Melero, co-director of the Immunology and Immunotherapy program.

Dr. Maite Huarte, director of the DNA and RNA Medicine Division.

Dr. Gloria González Aseguinolaza, director of the Gene Therapy of Rare Diseases program.

Dr. Ana García Osta, director of the Gene Therapy of Neurological Diseases program.

Dr. Puri Fortes, director of the RNA Biology and Therapies program.

Dr. Antonio Pineda, scientific director of Cima and director of the Technological Innovation Division.

Dr. Carlos Ortiz de Solórzano, director of the Biomedical Engineering program.

Dr. Mikel Hernáez, director of the Computational Biology and Translational Genomics program.

Dr. Marta Ferrer, Dean, School of Medicine. University of Navarra.

Dr. Bruno Sangro, Director of the Hepatology Unit. University Clinic of Navarra.

Dr. Antonio González, Director of the Cancer Center Clínica Universidad de Navarra .

The External Scientific Council is made up of prestigious national and international researchers:

Margarita Del Val, PhD, Director of the Viral Immunology Unit of CSIC.

Jean Charles Soria, MD, PhD, Senior Vice Presiden and Head of the Oncology Therapeutic Area of AMGEN.

Francisco Sánchez Madrid, PhD, Scientific Director of the Instituto de Investigación Sanitaria del Hospital de La Princesa.

Juan Bueren, PhD, Head of the Division of Innovative Therapies in the Hematopoietic System at CIEMAT.

Ángel Carracedo, MD, PhD, Professor of Genomic Medicine at the University of Santiago de Compostela.

Miao Chih Tsai, PhD, Scientific Director of the RNA Medicine Program at Stanford University.

Marcela Maus, MD, PhD, Director of Cellular Immunotherapy at the Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center.

Jude Samulski, PhD, Director of the Center for Gene Therapy at the University of North Caroline. Founder of Askbio.

Central Services

General Manager

Financial Management and Administration

Personnel Services

Research Management

Institutional Development

Translation and Innovation Unit

General Services